Yes, I know. I was supposed to keep this thing updated. Well, that’s not going over well, is it? Don’t be surprised if I don’t update much, or at least, not until May, when I’ve graduated.

Things are a mixed bag during student teaching. I don’t want to get too into it, since it’s – well – a mixture of things, and I don’t want to speak too much about it since this blog is publicly accessible. I don’t know. There’s just a lot. For me personally, I need to work on my inner strength, my teacher presence (keeping my voice loud enough for everyone to hear), and my relation to the students. They come from a different class than I do, so things are definitely different at this high school from my hometown high school.

The challenge as a whole? Our school has been categorized as “failing” by the State, and things are progressively getting worse in the English department. It really is discouraging.

While we have our good days – I survived my first surprise university supervisor visit on Monday and was thrilled – there are also the bad, such as today. I think everyone is worn down, and we didn’t even have much time in school last week (holiday, snow day, two hour delay and pep rally).

And it’s only going to get harder from here. I take the two sophomore classes over on February 7th. I’ll be doing all five classes about a week or so later.

I just don’t know how I’m going to do this. I can’t back out now, there is nowhere to go but forward. I need to get through this, and I will – somehow.

