Well, first off, things are going well.  I have done practically nothing since Monday’s awesome DEVO concert. Which, by the way, they have posted a video from and you should check it out. It makes me feel all giddy inside.

For the past couple of days, I’ve just been sitting around in my pajamas. I snack a lot at home, which I’m not proud of. I spend more time on my computer, and I’m not proud of that either. But really, there’s no way of me going anywhere as it stands right now. We’re lucky to have even one car, and even that has had its problems this week.

So, I watch morning talk shows. I eat whatever I can get my hands on in this house, which isn’t much. I started watching episodes of Are You Afraid of the Dark? on-line because for some reason I want some nostalgia. I finished reading Last Exit to Brooklyn. And I knit. I knit a lot. My hands are going to start aching again if I don’t watch out.

It’s also hot. So hot. And humid. To whichever side of the family gave me my humidity-prone hair – that wasn’t a very funny joke! It’s big, poofy, frizzy, and it’s gotten more tangled than ever.

To combat the heat, I’ve made some popsicles. They’re one of my favorite things about summer. I started seeing recipes and wondering what happened to our old popsicle molds that I used to fill with Kool-Aid. I mentioned it over the past weekend, and my grandma unearthed (rather easily, I might add, which is odd) a bunch of old popsicle molds. She let me have them, and on Tuesday, I made strawberry-mango-lemonade popsicles. They are delicious, and I have to restrain myself from eating them all – because after all, I don’t have many ingredients to work with. The fruit was in the freezer from a couple years ago.

Lastly, before I go, today is Wil Wheaton’s birthday. He’s 38, but whatever.  He doesn’t really look it. I got to know his work through the episode of CSI he played a homeless man on. I was like, “That name in the credits sounds familiar. Who is he?” and then through some searching, I ended up reading his blog. I then got my hands on his books Dancing Barefoot and Just a Geek. I loved them. I started watching Star Trek: The Next Generation. Mom was like, “Oh please don’t become a Trekkie!” But now I love Star Trek, in (most) of its series and movies. I really appreciate Wil’s voice as a writer, and all the acting roles he decides to do. I find that he’s a real cool guy, not just a celebrity.

A few years ago, probably four or so, I drew Wil Wheaton fanart (I know, I know, shut up.). I sent it to him on his birthday that year, just as a whim. He responded. He said it was cool and reminded him of Doktor Sleepless. He asked if he could use it on his blog, and I said yes! He never featured it, but I don’t care. I just have the satisfaction knowing that I did something cool, and that Wil Wheaton sent me a response. So, Mr. Cool-Man-Space-Nerd Wil Wheaton, Happy Birthday!

Now, I’m going out of town for a few days. Family reunion for the win! Enjoy the rest of your July!

