Crazy week. Jess had her friend Robbie visiting us twice this week. That’s actually how I didn’t finish Twin Peaks until Tuesday, but that’s okay.

I’ve been working out more with Sarah. We did it on Tuesday, Wednesday (sort of), Thursday, and Friday. When I got off the stair step/elliptical machine yesterday, it was slowing down, but one of the pedals hit me in the ankle hard. The spot of contact immediately turned purple. It lessened, but the pain has become worse. I have a cut where the pedal hit me, and then that whole section of my ankle is swollen. I think there’s even a part of it that’s blue. It’s nasty, and hard to walk with. It’s hard to bike with, too. I had to cancel working out today because all I can do is hobble.

When I talked to Alex tonight, when we were saying goodbye, he said, “Try not to hurt yourself anymore!” and we laughed. I am such a klutz. Last summer, it was a broken toe. This summer, my hurt ankle. What next?

I’ve been getting into Mad Men recently. I finished the first season in about two days, I’d say, and I watched a few episodes of the second season tonight. I love it – the complex characters, the authenticity, the clothing, everything. It’s so beautiful, despite my wanting to strangle the male characters whenever they say or do something sexist. That was the time, though.

Work has been going well. We’re moving everything right now because new carpeting is going to be put down soon, so it’s somewhat chaotic, but it hasn’t been too bad. I actually had to work today, which was weird. I haven’t worked a Saturday shift in two, almost three weeks. It was quiet. My apartment’s quiet too, since Jess is gone for the weekend. It’s not bad, only a little lonely. I get paranoid in when there’s no one else around.

Since I had to work, Alex didn’t come up. That’s okay, though, since he’s been up here the past two weekends and I’ve loved having him every minute of it. Plus, if he was here I wouldn’t be able to focus on my big paper that’s due in two weeks. I did a twenty-source annotated bibliography today. It took me four hours after work and lunch. My eyeballs wanted to fall out at the end, and I’m pretty sure my computer died for a moment because the screen went black, but it’s done save for some minor editing! Woo!

As for books, I finished Stranger in a Strange Land (eh) and now I’m reading Watership Down (like it). I should be finished with that in a few days, and most of the books on my reading list are checked out currently, so I’m trying to find a few new suggestions.

I’m getting much accomplished knitting-wise, too. I did a hat to match my mittens and scarf. It took me only a few hours, and it looks great. I have a good portion of my sweater done, too. I hope it turns out all right, since the pattern is rather difficult to follow.

I’m watching Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me right now. I got it through Interlibrary Loan. I was super excited for it, but it’s just bizarre. I think it goes well with the book – The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer – but if you’re going off just the series, it’s still confusing. I think David Lynch just wanted the excuse to show nudity, have cursing, and Sheryl Lee screaming a lot. I’m sure the guys downstairs (if they’re there) are just loving the random bloodcurdling screams coming from up here. Anyway, this is probably the last time I watch this movie… rather disappointing for such a good series.

