This has been a good week. I’m back to my usual shifts at work, where I’m there in the morning. I have to get up early, but that’s all right. I have class at 11:00, and then I’m usually done around noon. My new class is also better. I get to read, write, and hone my creative non-fiction skills.
The power went out at work on Monday. It was only for a minute, but then later, in the afternoon, it went out again. I had stopped by to print a document when they announced it. Power was out all over campus, so even though Sarah and I originally planned to go to the gym, we couldn’t.

Jess and I had our roommate date Monday afternoon. We went to see Toy Story 3. Jess said it wasn’t her favorite of the Toy Story movies, but we both agreed that it was very good. I was surprised to see it be so adult, philosophical, and intense. It was funny in some parts, and I really enjoyed it, but my face and shirt were wet with tears the majority of the time.

The reason why I cried, I believe, is because when Toy Story came out in 1995, I was six. I don’t remember who I saw it with, but I know I saw it in theaters – because I never owned a copy in my childhood, that’s for sure. I had a small Woody doll, and I’m fairly certain I lost it in the airport when I went to visit my dad.

I saw Toy Story 2 at the age of ten. I don’t remember much else about that experience, but I have seen both movies multiple times thanks to my younger brothers, who are now ten and seven. The younger one even dressed up as Buzz Lightyear one year for Halloween. My brothers would play the Toy Story films multiple times, and I would notice something new about them each time. I grew appreciative of the films on another level, since I was older.

So now, with the final film, it’s strange. Andy is seventeen, and going to college. I have been in college for three (going on four) years, and so I remember how it was when I first left home, and how I have matured. I find myself relatable to Andy, and Woody, Buzz, and all the other toys represent all those toys that I had as well, so really, this last film was not only Andy saying goodbye to his toys, but me, saying goodbye to these characters I have loved so well.

In fact, this is my equivalent of Woody. His name is Max.

I got him for Christmas one of the first years during my parents’ divorce. I don’t remember who gave him to me, but I adored his fuzziness. I used to put him in my suitcase whenever I had to travel. I got a bit older, and he sat in my chair for a long time. When my mom and stepdad were going through a messy divorce during my sophomore year of high school, Max became my confidante. Some days, I even snuck him to school, and just knowing he was near made me feel better. I no longer need him in that way, but I do bring him to school and have him sit nearby.

Anyway, if you haven’t seen Toy Story 3 yet – go!

Tuesday, Sarah and I began our exercise program. I was sweaty and out of breath when we finished, but it was worth it. I am excited to get in shape. After the workout, I took a shower and hung out at Lemmy, Dom, and Pete’s house. We watched Firefly and ate Chinese food. Then I went home and hung out with Jess and Kelly for a bit.

Wednesday, Sarah, Nick, and I did David Carradine’s Tai Chi workout. The library has it on tape, and even though it is hilarious to see, it was actually quite effective. Sarah and I made stir-fry, and then we watched Borat with Thom. I had never seen it before. Yeah, I know, I’ve lived under a rock (not really, but I just never got around to it. I still haven’t seen Avatar yet, either, for your information).

Sarah ordered our concert tickets yesterday, too. Oh, what concert, you say? Well, the other day I was reading the paper and saw that DEVO was coming to town. Sarah loves DEVO with the same passion I have for Depeche Mode. I let her know, and she wondered if I wanted to go. After much deliberation about whether or not we can get down there, we decided that we were going. So yeah! Completely unexpected, but wholly welcome.

Today was also a good day. I finished Breakfast of Champions – I love Vonnegut! – and I worked out with Sarah. I had the day off, so before I went to class, I got my hair cut, and it feels and looks better. I’m also on the front page of the Daily News online, and I will be getting my license next week.

Also, tomorrow I get to see my love!

I love my life.

