Just some of gems last night. Also, singing “Tik Tok” with your mom late at night is odd and fun at the same time. Good times.

“I’ve never understood you and libraries. Well, I guess you always were a bookworm. I just never understood it.”

“How old are you?”
“Twenty-one.”
“I’m going to go get a beer. You want one?”
“No, that’s okay. I had some wine earlier. No one saw me drinking it, though.”
“Well then it didn’t happen, did it?”

“You got a boyfriend or something?”
“Yeah, two years.”
“Well why the hell isn’t he here?”

“That’s my grandma! No, you’re not dancing with her!”

“How many years do you have left at school?”
“This is my last one.”
“How long have you been there?”
“Three years.”
“No shit. I thought you would have been there less time.”

“You’re in the Honors College, right?”
“No, never was.”
“Huh. Must have been the glasses.”

“Wow, you’re getting tall!”
“Um, I’m pretty sure it’s the heels.”

The following takes place between myself and a member of my graduating class whose name I didn’t recall at the time. He seemed slightly inebriated and didn’t seem to recall who I was or how vastly different we were in high school. In fact, he had never uttered a word to me until this reception, and he waited until we were cleaning up to make his move.

“How’s the family?”
“Uh… good, yeah. How are you?”
“Good, good.” At this point, he’s leaning in really close. “So…you’re like, the only other person here my age.”
“Yeah, I guess that’s right.”
“So…”

Awkward silence. “Well, I’ve got to go say goodbye to some other people. It was good seeing you!” Cue running away.

