April is National Poetry Month, and while I am going to attempt to read a poem every day during it, I wanted to share some with you. Not my own; maybe that will come, someday, but not now.

I feel that this is an appropriate poem to follow up yesterday’s post. It’s also one of my favorites. I discovered it last semester when I was looking for a poem in the Contemporary American Poetry book I have – borrowed lovingly from Cindy, my stepmother. When I discovered it, I was enamored because, well, I have big hips. That night I ended up running into my neighbors’ room and reciting it loudly with very big hand gestures. It was a goofy night, but it felt SO good to read this aloud. I highly recommend it.

“Homage to my Hips”
Lucille Clifton

these hips are big hips
they need space to
move around in.
they don’t fit into little
petty places. these hips
are free hips.
they don’t like to be held back.
these hips have never been enslaved,
they go where they want to go
they do what they want to do.
these hips are mighty hips.
these hips are magic hips.
i have known them
to put a spell on a man and
spin him like a top!

