Women’s History Month is ending, and I would just like to say:

I’m proud to be a woman.

I’m thankful for the women who have come before me, the strong ones who fought for my rights to choose, vote, and be heard. I’m thankful for the women in science, math, industry, politics, and overall have challenged the stereotypes of their fields, and the ones who may not have spoke out, but continued to love and raise their families; that takes a different kind of strength.

I have my strengths and weaknesses. I am real. I am a real woman. I’d say I’m a rather complex, real woman. I don’t want to go into a complete tirade here, though I’d love to discuss it more. It’s just that I have been reading a lot of literature concerning female characters and arguing about femininity, feminism, and the social backlash against women lately. I am moved by the stories of other women (Bonnie Bremser and Hettie Jones), and I have thought about myself as a woman.

Of course, I’ve begun to question who I really am lately.

I’ve actually started to reject my normal behavior.

It scares me and excites me.

I don’t know where I’m going, but I know where I have been and where I am now.

In the end, I just want to be happy, and I want to be a woman I am comfortable with, no matter what anyone else thinks.After all, it is my life, and I have rights. That’s all that should really matter.

So, to the women before me: THANK YOU!

To my female comrades: I appreciate you and embrace you!

And to the women after me: Make the world yours, and be who you truly feel to be.

