I returned to school today after a week in Atlantic Beach, North Carolina. I spent it with Alex and five of our friends, as I wrote about previously. We discovered and ate Bojangles’ biscuits for the first time, played board games, shopped at Food Lion (we’ve never seen any of those before, either), listened to mix CDs on the car rides (and sang along), visited Fort Macon, ate cheesecake and leftover Bojangles’ fried chicken for breakfast (though not the same morning), slept until noon most days, collected seashells, sank our toes into the sand, watched the sunsets…

… went to the aquarium and saw all sorts of neat things – I loved the jellyfish…

… flew kites on the beach (coincidentally, #50 on my list!)…

… and most of all, escaped. We (or at least, most of us) ditched our laptops, turned off our alarms, breathed fresh air, connected with nature and with ourselves, and relaxed. I feel like I bonded with everyone a bit better, and even if we were together all week, there was no agitation or arguing. We forgot about homework, stress, and the pressures we deal with constantly –  no tears, no anxiety.

We were completely and utterly happy. I loved it.

