Here is 2010, another year fresh and ready for me to make it beautiful. I, like many other people, had a rather unpleasant past year. Unemployed family members, unexpected moving on my dad’s side, overloaded schedules, lots of tears, and changes in my life in general.

I am making this promise. No matter what type of shit comes my way in 2010, it will be better. I will make it better. When I look back on what I did in the past year, it is hard for me to discern the good things and things I accomplished. This will not happen in the next year. I will accomplish things I need to do (like get a driver’s license) and things I want to do (fly kites and play video games).

I will be true to myself, and I will be happy.

Let me tell you, we’re two days in and I think 2010 is off to a great start.

On New Year’s Eve, I had some friends over. Originally, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, since New Year’s Day was my twenty-first birthday. Yeah, that big birthday where I am legal to drink. I knew many people wanted to party with me, but I didn’t want to have a big party. And since many of my friends don’t exactly get along with each other, it’s hard to plan any sort of party. I eventually gave up hope on my New Year’s plans, in a way.

Alex came to visit a week or so ago, and over lunch he asked me about having a small party. He was going to surprise me, but he wasn’t sure how I’d feel. I agreed to it, as long as I could make the cake, and it was a small gathering and there wasn’t an emphasis on alcohol.

The night was good. I missed having some of my good friends there, but I at least could see some people I hadn’t seen in a while. It was just what I needed, and what I asked for.

I kissed Alex at the stroke of midnight and I bubbled with joy. I felt the excitement and the opportunities this year would bring.

We were up until 4:00 a.m. I haven’t stayed awake that long in years. We slept until 11:00 and had sausage gravy and biscuits for breakfast. My mom gave me a present – a 50-piece set of animal cookie cutters. It might sound silly, but even though I’m twenty-one years old, I thought it was the coolest thing. It has an octopus, and a giraffe!

Even though my birthday/New Year’s Day was quite lazy, it was filled with warm wishes and lots of love.

Then today, Mom and I went to see the Princess and the Frog. I grew up with Disney princesses and all the animated classics, so I was excited, even though I was the oldest “kid” there. The previews were terrible, but the movie was decent. I wasn’t too thrilled about the ending, but it’s better than most children’s movies these days. Later, we watched Julie and Julia. I loved it, and it made me want to cook. I might just try my culinary skills out in the lovely kitchen we have at home before I have to go back to school…

So here we go – deep breath – 2010. I’m optimistic and ready for what life has to throw at me. I already know there will be some challenges ahead, but it’s also going to be beautiful. I can already feel it.

