I got out of school for Thanksgiving Break on Tuesday. I had four assignments due that day – ugh. It was so nice to leave campus for a while. My mom and I now have wireless Internet, thanks to my grandparents. It’s going to help us out a lot, since my mom is planning on going back to school, and she’s still trying to find a job.

We went to Ohio on Wednesday. Alex was coming up to my town to meet Nick and get a few games he requested, but since I wasn’t going to be there, I left a note and a mix CD on my front door and told him to stop by my house. I got a “thank you” text from him, and that was the last time I heard from him for two days because his phone died and he left his charger at school. It worried me a bit, but he called me today.

Thanksgiving with my grandparents wasn’t bad. I love them, but in all honesty, I’m terrified of my grandpa. He’s a military man, and he always seems so stiff and, a “downer,” if you will. My grandma is nice, although sometimes I get so frustrated with her “hovering.”  She likes to watch over my shoulder while I cook, and during our visit, whenever I dug out one of my four knitting projects, she always met me with a dozen questions.

I feel really bad because I probably come off as selfish and rude to them. I don’t mean it like that. I just hate being the only grandchild and I hate a quiet, tight-ruled, religious household. I was horrified to see that they own a book by Bill O’Reilly. We’re so different, our generations, and that’s difficult.

But Thanksgiving still went well. I read The Graveyard Book, finished a scarf for Alex’s mom, and worked on a pair of corseted fingerless gloves I started back in October. We watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade (Alan Cumming followed by Cyndi Lauper was the BEST part!), and the food was good. We weren’t going to have mashed potatoes, but I wasn’t having that, so I made the mashed potatoes myself. I also made a pumpkin-pear pie for dessert that turned out well.

Things I am Grateful For:

  • A loving family, despite my flaws and theirs.
  • A charming, wonderful, caring (and patient) boyfriend.
  • Good friends to turn to when I need advice, support, and a good laugh.
  • An education, a roof over my head, food in my stomach, and a bed to sleep in every night.
  • I am (as far as I know) healthy, and so are my family members.
  • For life, love, truth, and beauty – even in the darkest of nights.
  • Hope that things, no matter how bad they seem, will get better.

Mom and I left this afternoon and came back home. We ate chili and watched Choke. It was an okay movie, but I love Sam Rockwell and his weirdness. My boy called me. I was glad to hear that he had a good Thanksgiving. I can’t wait to see him Sunday, because this upcoming week is going to be a long one, and I don’t know if I’ll have much time to spend with him.

The good news: Only a few more weeks, and the semester will be over. Finally.

