A few weeks ago, I was playing with StumbleUpon. Originally, I found a post by this man about cheap date ideas. He mentioned making a list of 101 Goals in 1001 Days. I thought the idea was interesting. I have a lot of things I’d like to do, but I don’t necessarily get around to doing them. I decided that I could use this list for those short term accomplishments, but also something bigger. So, after much thinking, I made my own list. I’ll be keeping track of my progress through this blog. I hope to accomplish these goals, but if I don’t, that’s okay – welcome failure!

 

Sam’s 101 Goals in 1001 Days.

(Starting November 17th, 2009)

1. Receive my driver’s license.
2. Buy a car.
3. Pass Decision Point 3.
4. Student Teach.
5. Pass Decision Point 4.
6. Graduate Ball State.
7. Write a list of 101 things/reasons why I love Alex, and share it with him.
8. Update my blog at least seven times a month for a year.
9. Take a trip to Canada.
10. Try a flaming drink.
11. Dye a skein of yarn by hand.
12. Dye a skein of yarn with Kool-Aid.
13. Knit a cardigan.
14. Knit a blanket.
15. Knit a pair of socks.
16. Knit the Companion Cube for Alex.
17. Learn how to crochet.
18. Paint two paintings on canvas.
19. Complete the Mona Lisa puzzle.
20. Write 20 original poems.
21. Write 10 original short non-fiction works.
22. Write 10 original short fiction works.
23. Learn how to play piano.
24. Watch the sun set, stay up and then watch the sun rise.
25. Learn how to dance with Alex.
26. Do a crossword puzzle every day for a month.
27. Read 15 of the Modern Library’s 100 Best Novels (From either the Board or the Readers’ choice lists) that I haven’t read before.
28. Watch 15 Movies off of AFI’s Top 100 Movies that I haven’t seen before.
29. Kiss in a heavy rainstorm.
30. Go sledding, and then curl up with hot chocolate afterwards.
31. Take a vow of silence for one day.
32. Turn off and refuse to use electronics for a week.
33. Go play laser tag.
34. Bake a chocolate cake, complete with frosting, from scratch.
35. Bake a loaf of bread from scratch.
36. Get a bigger bookshelf.
37. Get a little red dress.
38. Make a photo diary for a year.
39. Go camping.
40. Learn how to say “I love you” in 10 other languages besides English.
41. Go vegetarian for at least one month (Despite parent’s protests.)
42. Have a dentist’s appointment.
43. Get eyeglass prescription checked.
44. Meet Alex’s grandparents.
45. Go see the Butterfly Gardens.
46. Make Key Lime Pie the way my dad does.
47. Grow my hair long enough to braid it.
48. Take a trip to New Orleans.
49. Rent an apartment.
50. Fly kites with Alex.
51. Mail a love note.
52. Go to the zoo.
53. Teach Aunt Jo how to knit.
54. Frame my Agent Smith poster.
55. Sing karaoke at a bar.
56. Make a sock monkey.
57. Donate blood for 8 quarters (that I’m eligible) in a row.
58. Take a yoga class/course.
59. Learn basic belly dancing.
60. Donate $5 to charity for each item I do not complete on this list (I’m a college student, so I can’t afford too much.)
61. Open a checking account, or see if it is possible.
62. Use my calligraphy set.
63. Give up Facebook for a month.
64. Have David teach me how to play chess.
65. Hit Broad Ripple or other parts of Indianapolis for a night on the town.
66. Make 3 pieces of jewelry.
67. Submit a work (poem or story) for publication.
68. Go to the Artist Within and paint a piece of pottery.
69. Read with my little brother Alex.
70. Drive to my dad’s on my own.
71. Write 10 small messages about books that meant a lot to me, and place them in library copies of the books.
72. Put all my music, videos, pictures, and other documents on an external hard drive.
73. Upgrade my operating system.
74. Go roller-skating.
75. Visit Chris, Rachel, and Emma in Lafayette.
76. Visit Jennifer at IU.
77. Go indoor rock climbing.
78. Ask Grandpa Gilbert about his time in the Air Force.
79. Ask Grandma Gilbert about the Laska side of the family.
80. Watch Great-Grandma Lorraine’s video.
81. Ask Grandpa Tilmans about his time at NASA.
82. Ask Grandma Tilmans about her parents and her teaching experiences.
83. Go to Alex’s graduation.
84. Look at the stars and planets through our telescope.
85. Try Vera Mae’s Bistro.
86. Attempt an embroidery project.
87. Get CPR certified.
88. Grow a plant I could use (tomatoes, chilies, berries, etc.).
89. Read a different poem each day for a month.
90. Go to a drag show (other than Spectrum’s – I like them, but I should try a different crowd.)
91. Knit Jock a dog sweater.
92. Get a professional back massage.
93. Finish my 1,000 cranes project that I started in high school.
94. Drink the bottle of French wine I bought in 2007.
95. Finish playing Portal.
96. Make homemade candy.
97. Play Scrabble with my mom. Try to beat her.
98. Attend a concert.
99. Visit the West Coast.
100. Go skinny-dipping.
101. Throw a party.

