I went to a family reunion in Wakarusa yesterday. It was enjoyable. Here are just a few of my favorite things about the day.

– Finishing The Fountainhead in the morning, and reading Night on the car ride home.

– One hour into our three-and-a-half (or so) hour car ride to the reunion, my little brother Alex asks, “Are we there yet?”

– Little brother, later, says, “Hey look, a cornfield!” I point out my window and say, “Oh, and hey, there’s another cornfield… and another… and another!” (Yeah, that’s Indiana!)

– Hugging people I have no clue who there are/were.

– Text to boyfriend Alex, right after arriving: “Oh my god I don’t remember the names of anyone here!”

– Talking with relatives, including ones I know or don’t know. They were all really nice, though. I like that my family is nice.

– Eating probably more desserts than actual food. I can’t help my sweet tooth sometimes.

– A nice old man with a hearing aid asking me, “So how do you fit in here?” and my following explanation of, “Well, I’m so-and-so’s grandkid, the oldest of their only son…”

– Standing in a Bob Evans parking lot with my other brother David’s stuffed parrot on my shoulder.

– Finally rolling into the driveway of my grandparents’ house at 10:00 p.m after leaving around 8:30 that morning.

– David going towards the bedroom I was staying, prompting me to say, “Nuh-uh! You aren’t going in there. That’s my room.” To have him whine, “I want to sleep in a BED!” And me replying, “I don’t want to hear about it! I haven’t slept in a bed all summer!”

– Cracking up (with perhaps insanity) while talking with the boyfriend, and falling asleep shortly after that. I slept for ten hours, and missed church and a pancake breakfast.

I love my family.

