The rest of my weekend was rather uneventful. I finished reading The Bell Jar, and then met up with Alex for dinner. We drank apple cider and ate cherries. I have never eaten cherries before. Crazy, right? Well, despite my first one being a complete mess – I had a problem separating the pit from the fruit and stained my fingers with cherry juice – they were delicious. We watched Gran Torino later, and I highly recommend it. Clint Eastwood just shows (again) that he can do great work behind or in front of the camera, and his age is not a factor.

I had to work on Sunday. It went all right. Before I went in, I had lunch and I finished watching Arrested Development (Finally!). I called my dad as I walked, and it looks like they’ve found the perfect house in Kentucky. I’m excited for them. They sent me the link, and it looks beautiful. I hope they get it. Above all, I can’t wait to see them. My plans and their plans may have to shift around for me to visit, but that is perfectly fine.

At work, I started reading On the Road, and at first I didn’t like it because the stream-of-consciousness style of writing really muddles my mind when I read, but now it is rather enjoyable. Kerouac was writing about another world, really. I can’t imagine dropping everything to travel around the country, hitchhiking, riding the rails, shacking up with random people, washing dishes in the back of a restaurant to pay for a meal, and working random jobs just to have some cash. One can’t really get away with doing those things anymore. The closest I’m probably going to get to this type of living is right now, sleeping on my friends’ couch, biking or walking to do four or five hours of work, and rationing my food and money so I don’t burn it all in one fell swoop.

As crazy and drug-addled as some of the people were, I would say Kerouac was really living. He was feeling the breath and the beat of America, and I will probably be stuck in the Midwest for a few more years, if not longer. I might always be stuck here.

I think probably my favorite little passage so far in On the Road was when Sal, Marylou, and Dean take their clothes off and the three of them drive naked and then stop to see some sights and Marylou and Sal put on coats while Dean goes out completely nude. It highly amused me.

After my Sunday shift, I stopped by Alex’s room to hang out. I was there for about an hour, but he did not really want to hang out. I was exhausted anyway, possibly from getting so much sun lately. I went to bed around 10:00, but I couldn’t sleep. We got a visit from Tanner and Townsend because they were going on a trip with James but couldn’t get a hold of him. I turned on the light in the living room and sat on the couch covered in my blanket, and I gave them directions to James’s house. They left and didn’t come back, so I assumed my directions worked. It was nice to see them, albeit briefly.

I had one of my early shifts this morning. I didn’t get much time to read, either, though the time seemed to fly. I went back to the house afterwards, ate lunch, finished a word search on Crosswords DS, and fell asleep for about three hours. I knew I was tired, but I didn’t realize I was that tired.

I ate dinner and read, and Alex came by around 6:30. We went for a walk, and it looked like it was going to rain, but it didn’t. The cool breeze was welcome after the past hot and humid week. We came back, ate some Oreos, and watched a little bit of Star Trek: The Next Generation on SciFi. Alex left around 8:00, but I don’t blame him. There was nothing to do, and he has a test tomorrow.

I have been hanging out here the rest of the evening after he left.  Nothing exciting, though I shouldn’t be allowed to surf the Internet as much as I do, because I see websites about sewing, crocheting, knitting, dyeing, crafting, and cooking, and all I want to do is create. My latest knitting project’s yarn, access to a sewing machine, and all the rest of my craft stuff is in Pendleton, I don’t know how to crochet yet, and I have a very limited money supply since I need to save up for books and other school stuff. I don’t have a lot of options, and I can accept that. I just don’t like the fact that my fingers are itching, begging me to create something, and I have to tell them to calm down and take a rest for a while. I don’t have much time in the school year to do all the things I enjoy, so I have been trying to make the most out of my summer, obviously.

The best part about this week, though? I get to go back to Pendleton Wednesday afternoon. It’s true! My regular days off are Sunday and Thursday, and then the library is closed on Friday and Saturday for the July 4th holiday, so I get four days off – woo! I don’t even care that I will be losing some hours this week.

I am tired, bitter, and crazy.

I need to spend at least one night in my own bed, spend a few days with my mom, and eat actual good food! I mean, I know I’m the one cooking my own meals here in Muncie, but when you’re on a tight budget, you can’t exactly go gourmet…

Seriously, I don’t think I have never been so excited to go back to Pendleton in my life. Wednesday afternoon can’t come quickly enough.

